Uncategorized

Sunscreen Round-Up

Protecting your skin has never been more important as we are all (or should be) hyperaware of the dangers of sun exposure. And not just during the summer while at the beach or pool but in our daily lives. Living in San Diego, I have the benefit of beautiful year-round weather. As a stay-at-home mom I am also outside in the weather every day with two very active boys. After trying many different sunscreens I have found the ones I love the best. No matter if you give these specific ones a try or not be sure to protect your skin every day!

FOR THE FACE
coola-moisturizing-face-sunscreen-cucumber-350x350Your face is the one body part that is exposed to the sun every single day no matter where you live. Wearing a facial sunscreen should be vital to your skincare routine. The one I have come to love the most is Coola’s Face SPF 30 Organic Cucumber Classic Sunscreen. The fresh cucumber scent is divine.  It goes on smoothly and lightly making it ideal to wear under make up or simply by itself.

FOR THE BODY
beach defenseRecently I’ve started applying sunscreen every morning to my hands, neck and chest (I should have been doing this for a long time now but I’ve finally gained some sense). Again, living in San Diego I’m exposed to sun most days even just driving in the car. I admit part of my motivation is aging (yikes!) but the main reason is staying healthy. This summer I discovered Neutrogena Beach Defense Sunscreen Lotion SPF 30. It is a fast-aborbing, lightweight sunscreen with a subtle “beachy” scent. I recently went on a girls trip to Palm Springs and friends at the pool asked what fragrance I was wearing! This is a great option for all over body coverage when doing summertime activities or just for day-to-day use on exposed skin.

FOR BABY
babyganicsI have tried so many sunscreens on my children ages 17 months and 3 years. My favorite to date is BabyGanics SPF 50 Sunscreen Spray. I apply liberally all over them before putting on their swimsuits and reapply as needed. It has no smell, no irritation and rubs in quickly – key for fast moving boys! Once the beach or pool activity begins its hard to reapply so I often use Neutrogena Wet Skin Kids Sunscreen Spray SPF 70. I quicky spray them down and even use it on their scalps! Neither of my children like to wear hats so this is a quick way to protect that sensitive part of the head and believe me it can burn.wet skin

What sunscreens have you found to be the best? Do you apply every single day? If you try any of the above suggestions let me know what you think! Comments always welcome.

Agree or disagree? Post your thoughts!